Discussion Forum
Unscrupulous Landlords

From Warren Ellison
Sunday, 1 February 2009

Just wondering whether anyone else in Hebden in suffering from landlords that treat them unfairly? I have been renting Chiserly Barn in Old Town for 3 months. The landlord suddenly declared that he wants the property back and has given the two of us that have been sharing it a month to leave. He told us that it was because he could get more money for the property if he rents it to one occupier so we offered to increase the rent, he said no and continues to insist we leave. We are both professionals in our 40s and hardly live the high life so there is no issue in terms of damage to the property.

I was wondering whether anyone else has had issues with unreasonable landlords in and around Hebden. It's worth mentioning if only to warn other potential tenants. Rather than allowing landlords to treat a succession of tenents appallingly lets try a "rate my landlord" type thing and hit them in the pocket until they treat us well.

From Rev Tony Buglass
Monday, 2 February 2009

I wouldn't presume to call your landlord 'unscrupulous' as I don't know him. He certainly appears to think himself a sharp businessman. The real question is whether the terms of your contract allow him to simply turf you out. A month's notice is not unreasonable, depending on the terms of the contract and the reasons for termination.

I'm assuming you have taken some advice, talked to CAB, etc? You might have some leverage...

From Jack Hughes
Tuesday, 3 February 2009

The Reverend really doesn't think a month's notice is unreasonable? Oh Lord. Were my landlord ever to give me a month's notice-to-quit, who would wind up looking after the ex-church organ I so relish playing tritones on? That's my main worry. Anyway, this site may be a handy resource for vulnerable tenants, of whom I know a few;

http://england.shelter.org.uk

From Burty Glavnesso
Wednesday, 4 February 2009