Discussion Forum
A Move To Hebden Bridge?

From Kev Richardson
Monday, 17 August 2009

I have only visited Hebden Bridge on one occasion but liked what I saw. I am seriously thinking of moving to Hebden Bridge but I would like some honest opinions about the place. I am looking for a peaceful area but with good community spirit and plenty to do if needed. I am a musician, complementary health therapist, and at the moment also a support worker in mental health. Your views would be very much appreciated.

From Jason Elliott
Tuesday, 18 August 2009

If you were one of those people who take those (in my opinion, rather daft) Facebook quizzes called "What Northen Town should I live in?", the answer it would give you would most certainly give you would be Hebden Bridge.

Seriously though, at least 1000 of the 4500 people who live here are musicians / complementary health therapists / support workers.

All you're missing is a degree in textiles!

Do it. Make the move.

From Kev Richardson
Tuesday, 18 August 2009

Just to say thanks Jason for your reply. I originally come from the Doncaster area of South Yorkshire but at present I am living on the west coast of Scotland. I shall probably give Hebden a visit on my next trip down in a couple of weeks time.

From Susan Quick
Thursday, 20 August 2009

Do it! I did. I was forced up here for a weekend conference of the World Development Movement at the Birchcliffe Centre. Who forced me? Three friends. I was living in London suburbia at the time. Afraid I'm a deep Southerner, originally from Bristol.

I fell in love with the place. Came back a few weeks later with my partner. Camped for a week in a tent and went house hunting. Took a whole week to find the home of my dreams. That was 1995 and I'm still here!

Best move I ever made. Hebden is full of people I first met in Africa! Including my next door neighbour for a year in Darfur, Sudan.

Yes do come, you've got all the right skills and experience. You fit!