Discussion Forum
Mobile Speed Cameras

From Mandy Holmes
Monday, 5 November 2007

This valley has seen an increase in mobile speed cameras, one in Todmorden, Mytholmroyd, and Ludd Foot. I am a decent driver, had my licence for 22 years, never had a single ticket or accident. Surely this must show for something considering my annual mileage is around 25k!

Anyway, last week in Mytholmroyd there was a mobile speed camera motorbike clocked me doing 33 miles per hour at a staggering 291 meters away! Now after 22 years I have to face 3 penalty points and a £60 fine.

Firstly the guidelines are 10% +2. However it is upto the partnership if they chose to prosecute to these guidelines, West Yorkshire obviously don’t!

Whilst no I don’t condone speeding ect, I believe this is an unfair exploitation of the motorist again. Surely if road safety was a priority for our area there are other methods to try other than speed cameras! It annoys me as I think of myself as a good safe driver, got overtook today by some idiotic boy racer doubling the limit! Where is the justice?

Posted by Joseph S
Monday, 5 November 2007

I agree it seems unusually harsh. I got a parking ticket in Halifax this year due to my own stupidness. When I explained what I'd done wrong they canceled it and said that they normally let people off for a first offence. This seemed really reasonable to me.

Had you been done for the 10th time or something then I'd say tough. But 3 mph over and 1st offence seems like a poor way to improve road safety to me.

Posted by Jim Band
Monday, 5 November 2007

Mandy said: "this is an unfair exploitation of the motorist again"

Were you speeding Mandy? Is it against the law? Do you think that a previously unblemished driving record makes you somehow above the law, or less worthy of prosecution?