Ryburne

Small ads

Anti-cuts demo London March 26th

From Ben Plumpton

Thursday, 3 March 2011

If like me and my family you are concerned about the disastrous cuts to the NHS and public services that are about to happen, join us on the TUC organised 'March for the Alternative' in London on Saturday 26th March. More details at March for the Alternative and False Economy.

There are coaches going from Calderdale organised by Unison, £5 a seat for non-members, full details and contact here

C'mon Hebden Bridge, let's get a good turnout! I bet we can do a great job of witty and funny and artistic placards....

Ben

From Chris Day

Friday, 4 March 2011

Thanks for the post, Ben. I have booked my ticket and expect to have an enjoyable day in London on March 26th. (Sorry, but I'm not too good at making artistic placards). The turnout seems likely to be huge and the scale of the event is already beginning to open up some of the issues to wider public discussion. See for example these letters in yesterday's Guardian.

What Osborne prefers to leave unsaid on debt and the deficit?.)
...'does not mention the three Nobel prize-winning economists (Pissaredes, Stiglitz, Krugman) and Martin Wolf of the Financial Times, all of whom condemn this austerity policy as a serious historical error. Why not? Clearly because he wants no balanced public contestation over the sustainability of a public sector. ? - it's a crisis of democratic debate. '

From Charles Gate

Thursday, 10 March 2011

Many people from Hebden Bridge and Calderdale will be making the journey to London on the 26th for the TUC demo against the Lib Dem and Tory austerity package, but some people will not be able to make it. For their pleasure the Government is bringing Eric Pickles MP, Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, to Halifax instead on Friday 25th March for a fund-raiser for the local Tories. They raise funds, whilst we have our jobs and services slashed.