Small ads

Vacancies for Councillors by co-option

Thursday, 15 May 2014

White Lee Ward
Cragg Vale Ward

Vacancies on Hebden Royd Town Council have arisen following the resignation of Councillor James Baker & Councillor John Beacroft Mitchell.

No poll has been claimed within the advertised period and as such these posts will now be filled by the Town Council by co-option.

For those wishing to be considered for co-option please submit a letter of application, stating clearly which ward you wish to stand for, include detail of residence and reasons for wishing to represent the people of Hebden Royd to the Town Clerk for presentation at the meeting of the Full Council on the 28th May 2014.

Jason Boom
Town Clerk
The Town Hall
Hebden Bridge

Three Vacancies for Councillors

Friday, 4 April 2014

Vacancies on the Hebden Royd Town Council have arisen following the resignation of Cllrs. Nader Fekri, James Baker and John Beacroft Mitchell.

White Lee Ward     West End Ward    Cragg Vale Ward

A Bye-Election to fill the vacancy will be held if, within 14 working days from the date below, ten electors for the Ward give notice in writing, claiming such an election to the Returning Officer.

The Address of the Returning Officer is:
Westgate House

If no such notice is given the Town Council will fill the vacancy by Co-option.

Elections for Hebden Royd Town Council are held every four years. The last election was in May 2011 when Labour overtook the Liberal Democrats to become the largest party. There have been no Green or Conservative Party candidates for the past two elections.

When a councillor resigns before the four years are completed, there is an opportunity for voters to demand a bye-election. If this doesn't happen within the required time, the council may co-opt people to become councillors.

Vacancies on the Council arose in October 2013in White Lee and Caldene wards following the resignation of Cllrs. Julia Gibson and Matthew Talbot. No-one sought election so two councillors were co-oped.

Calderdale Council elections normally take place at the beginning of May but have been put back this year to coincide with the European Elections on 22 May.