Share this page

Small ads

May elections

Thursday, 14 April 2016

Local election Day is Thursday 5 May this year.

The deadline to register, if you want to be able to vote and have your say at these elections, is Monday 18 April. Here's the registration page.

Each ward is representated by three Calderdale councillors. On 5 May, we have the opportunity to vote for one of them. The candidates are listed below.

As with previous elections, the HebWeb invite candidates to post messages here on why we should vote for them - up to 500 words with photo.

The next full election for Hebden Royd Town Councillors is in 2019.

Calder Ward including Hebden Bridge.

We also have the opportunity to choose the Police and Crime Commissioner - candidates listed below.


Candidate Party
Janet BattyeLiberal Democrats
Josh Fenton-GlynnLabour Party
James KrishnapillaiThe Conservative Party Candidate
Jenny ShepherdGreen Party


Luddendenfoot Ward, including Mytholmroyd

Candidate Party
Chris Baksa UK Independence Party (UKIP)
Karl BoggisLiberal Democrats
Owen GilroyThe Conservative Party Candidate
Pete PitfieldGreen Party
Jane ScullionLabour Party
Rod SutcliffeYorkshire First

Election of West Yorkshire Police and Crime Commissioner

Candidate's Surname


​Mark Burns-Williamson

​Labour Party

​Peter Corkindale

UK Independence Party (UKIP)

​Allan Doherty

The Conservative Party Candidate

​Barry Golton

Liberal Democrats

​Therese Hirst

English Democrats - "More Police - catching criminals!"


HebWeb 2015 General Election section

HebWeb News: 2015 Calderdale Council Election - Results and candidates' statements for Calder and Luddenfoot wards.

HebWeb News: 2014 Calderdale Council Election - Results

More coverage of elections of the HebWeb