Small ads

Town Council bye-election Result

Saturday, 24 May 2014

Hebden Royd Town Council: West End Ward By-Election

Labour win with 51% turnout and 60% of the vote.

Steven Curry - Independent 127
Rob Gibbon - Labour Party 309 - Elected
Mary Young - Lib Dem 74
Turnout 51%


Calderdale Council election Results

Friday, 23 May 2014

First change to Calderdale Council. Sowerby Bridge is a Labour gain for Dot Foster. (15.00)

Conservative gain Brighouse from Independents - Howard Blagbrough

Former Mayor of Hebden Royd, Susan Press wins Todmorden for Labour (15.05)

Labour win Calder Ward, covering Hebden Bridge. Alison Miles takes the seat with 1547 votes. Nader Fekri's former seat - he was elected as a Liberal-Democrat but defected to Labour. Labour gain from previous election. 15.08 Kate Sweeny for the Greens comes second.

Conservatives win Luddenden Foot, covering Mytholmroyd with Jill Smith-Moorhouse, beating Labour by 17 votes! 15.23

Labour gain Elland ward with Angie Gallagher 15.26

Labour gain Warley 15.42


Calderdale remains under no overall control with Labour 25 (+5) seats, Conservatives 19 (+2) seats and Liberal Democrats, 6 (-6) seats



Stephen Curry, Independent 466

Nicola May, Conservative 595

Alison Miles, Labour 1547 - elected

Mike Smith, Liberal Democrats - 628

Kate Sweeny, Green - 817

Turnout 45.34%



Charlotte Brady, Labour 1084

Anthony Hodgins Liberal Democrats 443

Elizabeth King, Green 539

Jill Smith-Moorhouse, Conservatives 1101 Elected

Turnout 39.89%



Mark Gledhill Conservative Party 784

Margareta Holmstedt, Liberal Democrats 796

Oxana Poberejnaia Green Party 448

Susan Press Labour Party 1104 Elected

Turnout 37%

European and local Elections

Friday, 25 April 2014

The following candidates are standing for election to Calderdale Council this May in the Calder Ward which includes Hebden Bridge.

Stephen Curry, Independent

Nicola May, Conservative

Alison Miles, Labour

Mike Smith, Liberal Democrats

Kate Sweeny, Green

Candidates who are competing in the Luddenden Foot Ward which includes Mytholmroyd are:

Charlotte Brady, Labour

Anthony Hodgins, Liberal Democrats

Elizabeth King, Green

Jill Smith-Moorhouse, Conservative

European and local Elections

Tuesday, 22 April 2014

Local election Day is 22 May this year, to coincide with the European elections. The deadline for applications to register to vote at these elections is Tuesday 6 May 2014. (Voter Registration form)

We will have the opportunity to vote for one of three councillors who represent our 'Calder Ward' on Calderdale Council. Nominations for this seat close on Thursday, 24 April at 4pm. Details of candidates will be made available on the HebWeb as soon as they are known.

The HebWeb will invite the candidates to post messages here on why we should vote for them.

For the European elections, Calderdale falls within the Yorkshire and the Humber Region. Elections are held every 5 years and the Region elects 6 members to the European Parliament. These elections are different in that they are not decided by who gets the most votes. Instead there is a quota system which means that minority parties can do better.

As outlined in our previous news item, there may also be elections for up to three Town councillors, if the seats are contested.

See also:

HebWeb News: Calderdale Council Elections - hustings

HebWeb News: Three Vacancies for Town Councillors