Share this page

Small ads

Calderdale Council Elections 2023

Updated Friday, 5 May 2023

Labour's Israr Ahmed has won the Calder Ward, covering Hebden Bridge, with the Greens in second place, a long way behind. Labour's Katie Kimber wins the seat in Luddendenfoot, the ward which covers Mytholmroyd. Labour's Silvia Dacre takes Labour. Calderdale gains second Green councillor in Northowram and Shelf.

Calderdale Council remains Labour.

Election Turnout Calder ward had the highest in Calderdale with 48%, and Luddendenfoot ward, the second highest with 42%

Candidates for the Calder Ward (covering Hebden Bridge)

Israr Ahmed - Labour - 2615 - elected

Diana Harris - Liberal Democrats - 509

Helen Lasham - Independent - 110

Joseph Matthews - Conservative - 555

Alan McDonald - Green - 617

Turnout: 48.3%

Candidates for the Luddendenfoot Ward (covering Mytholmroyd)

Christine Bampton-Smith - Liberal Democrats - 355

Katie Kimber - Labour - 1900 - elected

Jill Smith-Moorhouse - Conservative - 820

Kate Sweeny - Green - 271

Turnout: 42.2%

Candidates for the Todmorden Ward

Silvia Dacre - Labour - 1791 - elected

Mark Holmes - Conservative - 530

Kieran Turner - Green - 472

Christopher Wadsworth - Liberal Democrat - 271

Turnout: 34.9%

There are 51 councillors who run Calderdale Council. Calderdale is divided into 17 wards which each return three councillors. Three years out of four, we have the chance to elect one councillor. Councillors are elected to serve on the Council for a term of 4 years. Hebden Bridge is in the Calder Ward, and Mytholmroyd is in the Luddendenfoot ward.

As with previous years, the HebWeb invites candidates to send up to 500 words and photo - see this page from 2018.

Email the HebWeb

See also: Hebden Royd Town Council Elections